Golden Empire Council News - September 2020

 

Do you have news, video, or photos to share? Email them to our editor.

 

 

Centennial Quest

Centennial Quest

 

Register NOW for the Centennial Quest!  

The Golden Empire Council is officially 100 years old!  How are you going to celebrate?  Why not join the Centennial Quest?

Travel out on an adventure to discover the many points of historical interest in the Golden Empire Council. Seek out places you may have never gone, where Scouts like you have made history over the last 100 years.

 

  • Everyone who registers gets Quest Instructions, a Decade Recap booklet, and an olive bordered patch
  • Look for an email on September 9th with the link to your Quest Instructions
  • Tag yourself and family in pictures on Instagram and Facebook with the hashtag #GECBSAat100
  • Self-report your success by October 31st
  • Look for your patches and bound books a few weeks after October 31st

How much for this great adventure? Only $10 per participant!

Additional details can be found on the Registration Page.

May you be successful in your Golden Empire Council Centennial Quest!

The GEC Centennial Committee

 

Teddy Bear Campout

For Kids K-2nd Grade!  Send your favorite stuffed animal on an exciting Scouting Adventure of their own!  Have a campfire with them, take them to a Pack/Den Meeting, dress them up in your favorite Scout Neckerchief and Scout Hat, set them up in a pillow fort or tent, with our nation's flag, take them on a hike, or site seeing around your community!  Submit your pictures of your Stuffed Animal Scout Adventure in by 5:00PM September 13, 2020 by emailing camping@gec-bsa.org or messaging us on our Council Facebook page.  One entry per person.  Winner will be announced on October 1, 2020.

#ScoutMeIn  #GECBSAat100  #GECTeddyBear

Silver Beaver

Silver Beaver Nominations Due September 30th

The Boy Scouts of America relies on volunteers to plan, produce, and run many of the programs and events for our youth members.  Some volunteers are extremely dedicated to making sure our youth members have the best program possible.  They are the volunteers who dedicate many hours and days to the Day Camps, Camporees, Scout Expos, Scout-o-ramas and the many other events produced by the Golden Empire Council.  Most of these volunteers do this without any expectation of recognition outside of the thank yous they may receive during the events.

Each year the Golden Empire Council holds a a recognition dinner to honor our volunteers.  During this dinner we present a few of our most dedicated volunteers with the Silver Beaver Award.  This is the highest adult volunteer award that can be given by the Council.  

Nomination Form

Family Fun Fest

September 12th on Facebook Live

 

This very special online-only free event will be jam-packed with a sampling of the fun things Cub Scouts across the country do day in and day out. We’ll be going big with all things Pinewood Derby, because hey, it’s kind of our thing!  But that’s just the tip of the iceberg. From astronauts to crafts and even a few special surprises it’ll be the most fun your family will have online all summer. 

Scouting is always more fun with friends, so be sure to spread the word about Family Fun Fest on September 12th!

More Information

 

GEC Camp-in

GEC Camp-In

Starting September 25th, we will be offering monthly family Camp-In weekends! This program offers something for ALL of our Scouting families!  Cub Scouts, Scouts BSA, Venture Crews and Sea Ships are all invited to join in on the fun!.  We hope to help our families stay in that Scouting spirit and are offering our Camp-In program to help!  Monthly, we will host a weekend of fun activities.  Campfires on Friday and Saturday night.  Lunch time check in fun on Saturday.  Interfaith Services on Sunday morning and encourage your families to take advantage of this great program and get outside!  Not able to camp?  No problem.  Pop a tent in the living room and enjoy the activities.  We hope our Units will participate and add their own gathering times to check in.  Remember that virtual camping nights count right now as a way to help our Scouts to move forward on their requirements.

Looking for a chance for some rank advancement or an opportunity to earn some Adventure loops?  Our Camp-In program offers both Cub Scout Adventure Loops as well as Merit Badge opportunities for Scouts BSA participants during the day on Saturday.  While our Camp-In extra programs are free for all those in our Council (and beyond), there is a small fee associated with the Merit Badge/Adventure Loop classes.  Get more information or register now by clicking here.  https://gec-bsa.doubleknot.com/scouting-at-home/gec-camp-in/73531  Don’t forget to check our Scouting at Home page for more great ideas and helpful tips for keeping your Unit moving forward this fall!   

Camptober

CAMPTOBER: AROUND THE BIG TOP

If you are looking for fun with a variety of challenges, check out Camptober: Under the Big Top.  After the opening ceremony on October 1, participants can choose from a menu of activities—from community searches linked to Cub advancements to a Scouts BSA-level Arctic Challenge to scavenger hunts in a variety of communities.  Families can choose to learn more about the area where they live or explore new ones.  Scouts will have the full month to complete their choice of 10 events, and earn this unique patch, before the October 31 closing ceremony. Patches will be mailed after the event.

This activity was planned by Placer and Pioneer Express Scouters to provide program challenges that get youth outdoors or active remotely with fellow Scouts to complete the events. Then we decided to let other districts join in on the fun.  Registration is live now! 

Registration

Flyer

State Guidelines for Groups

State Guidelines for Small Cohorts/Groups of Children and Youth

On August 25, 2020, the California Department of Public Health released guidance that applies to groups of children or youth.  The guidance defines a cohort as a stable group of no more tha 14 children or youth and no more than two supervising adults in a supervised environment in which supervising adults and children stay together for all activities and avoid contact with people outside of their group in the setting.

What does this mean for Scouting?  It means that Cub Scout Dens or Scouts BSA Patrols may meet as individual dens or patrols of no more than 14 youth and 2 adults.  Dens and patrols should not mix with other dens or patrols.  Adults should be assigned to one den or patrol and only work with that den or patrol.

To view the entire guidelines, follow the link: CDPH Guidlines for Groups of Children and Youth

BSA Restart Scouting Checklist

 

Membership Fee Structure

BSA Membership Fee Structure

From Scoutingwire:

The Boy Scouts of America (BSA) has worked to keep the membership fee as low as possible. Unfortunately, operating costs have continued to rise and COVID-19 has compounded the need to increase the fee to maintain the program.

To ensure we have the resources to fulfill the promise of Scouting, the updated national membership fee is

  • $66 for Cub Scouts, Scouts BSA, Venturing and Sea Scouts participants
  • $42 for Exploring participants
  • $30 for council-paid memberships
  • $42 for all adult volunteers (includes cost of background check)
  • $75 for a unit charter fee

The membership fees will take effect August 1, 2020, for new members in the 2020-2021 program year. For renewing members, the new fee will take effect on October 1, 2020. The updated unit charter fee will take effect August 1, 2020, for all new and rechartering units.

Starting August 1, 2020, there will also be a one-time $25 joining fee for new program participants in Cub Scouts, Scouts BSA, Venturing and Sea Scouts; however, there is no joining fee for Exploring participants, participants previously registered in any BSA program, those transferring from one program to another, council-paid memberships, or adult volunteers.

View complete document

Prorated fees for Fall 2020

Spook-o-ree

Spook-o-ree

Spook-o-Ree – Registration is live.  Join us for the 1st Annual Spook-o-Ree Event at the NorCal Adventure Area!  This day will include fun family activities for everyone including archery, bb shooting, pumpkin decorating/carving, cookie decorating and more!  We will also have an opportunity for those that wish to participate in the 100 Years of Service Day activities to do a good turn and check off that box for both Centennial Quest and Camptober.  Siblings are welcome and encouraged to attend!  3 and under are free and all other youth are $10.  No charge for adults.  Come enjoy the fall weather and have fun at our event.  We will be using co-hort groups to keep you with a low number of people all day for everyone’s safety.  Looking forward to seeing you at NorCal!  http://www.gec-bsa.org/event/spook-o-ree-2020/2695378

Woodland Pack 499

Woodland's Pack 499 Celebrates Scout Rank Advancements

Woodland's Pack 499 has been working hard to keep their Cub Scouts Active during the COVID-19 restrictions.  They recently celebrated their advancemtn accomplishments by holding a car parade in the Woodland Library parking lot.  During the parade, Scouts picked up over 180 patches and beltloops they earned since social distancing guidlines were put in place.  (read more)

Winter Camp

2020 NorCal Arctic Adventure

Winter camp reservations are open now!  The November Eagle Camp will be an all virtual event for those wishing to get started on those challenging Eagle Merit Badges.  Participation levels are up to each Scout.  We are offering up to 6 sessions of merit badges with some opportunities for fun after the day’s lessons.  Each merit badge will be covered in a 3.5 hour block in morning or afternoon session to meet your Scout’s needs.  Register now at:  http://www.gec-bsa.org/event/capacity-available/arctic-adventure-november-eagle-camp/67408 

For now, our December program (27th – 31st) is still scheduled to be in person and we are hopeful that we will be able to host our Scouts in a more traditional camp setting at that time.  Register now for this great program at http://www.gec-bsa.org/event/capacity-available/arctic-adventure-december-winter-camp/66137

Jingle Bell Walk

 

Save the Date

Jingle Bell Walk

December 5 - 6, 2020

More information coming soon.

Bag Sale

Bag Sale

https://www.gec-bsa.org/100th-anniversary-bag-sale/73231

Just for you for 2020 and our 100th Anniversary Celebration!  We are offering Urban Xplorer HalfPack and Backpacks for only $30 including a special luggage tag to show your support of Scouting!  These bags normally retail for almost $200 each and we had hoped to sell them at our summer camps and 100th Anniversary celebrations, but are now offering them for sale via the Council Office.  Prepay or pick one up on your next trip into the office.  These rugged bags will last for years so get one now while they last!

Family Camping

Family Rentals Available – Camp Winton and Camp Lassen  

We have weekend rentals available for both Camp Winton and Camp Lassen on a limited bases for same household (family) groups.  Small numbers of campsites are available and this is a great opportunity for your family to get outside.  Open for select weekends through October, make your reservations now for your family to get outside!

Click here for more information on both camp opportunities as well as links to register for specific weekends

OA Patches

 

Order of the Arrow Patches

Last Chance

The Order of the Arrow is selling a fundraising patch for raising funds for the National Order of the Arrow Conference.   This is the last chance to buy this set.  The patch is available with three different border colors.  Follow the link for the color your want.

Red Border

Purple Border

Yellow Border

 

Camp patches

Camp Patches

Get a piece of 2020 Summer Camps while they last.  Purchase a Camp Winton or Camp Lassen 2020 Summer Camp patch for only $3.50 (shipping included).  We hate that we didn’t get to use the patches but we wanted you to have an opportunity to add them to your collections.

          

Click here to order:          Camp Lassen Patches

                                         Camp Winton Patch

Items for Sale

For Sale at GEC-BSA

Patches, Gear, Gifts, etc. that Scouts and Scouters can use!

 

See Facebook comments on this post for more background on these items.

Training

 

Although all in-person training events have been cancelled or postponed, this is a wonderful time to get caught up on the wonderful online courses that have been provided by the National Council. You can see what courses are available by visiting: https://www.scouting.org/training/adult/. On this site, you can register for courses and learn more about your position in Scouting and how Scouting works!  

As we get more information about our in-person training events we will be updating our training page at http://www.gec-bsa.org/training/62614.

Univ. of Scouting

Now Open,

***YOU CAN REGISTER NOW!***

UNIVERSITY OF SCOUTING 2020

Act fast to be a part of this historic GEC-BSA 100 Anniversary year Event! (Just $5 in Sept., we're expecting to sell-out!)

For more info.:

 #GECBSAat100

 

NorCal Blog

Watch our Building progress at the Nor Cal Adventure Area.

Vitit the Blog or website for more informaiton.

Website

 

Venturing VOA at UoS-2020
 

 

Watch National, Regional and Area Venturing Leaders

TAKE THE STAGE at UoS-2020

  • National VOA President TYLER GREY with Nat. VP SAMANTHGA TROIANO on ( VE-101) 'Goal Setting and Time Management'
  • Western Region VOA President JULIANA MURILLO with Area 3 VP EVAN SHILLING on (VE-102) 'Project Management Training'
  • Area 3 VOA President JAMEY SCHNASSE with Area 3 VP THERON OSTERHOUT on (VE-103) 'Mentoring Training'

 

For more info.:

Social Media Check-In

21,094 Gather in August!

 

 

It’s a good time to CHECK-OUT what'st going on at:  www.Facebook.com/gecbsawww.Instagram.com/gec.bsa/ and www.Twitter.com/gecbsa where you will find a COUNCIL-SIZED community of Scouters and some Scouts.

Watch for our GEC-BSA Facebook promotions:

  • Merit Badge Madness
  • #ScoutingAtHome
  • #GECBSAat100

Contribute your Scouting message, notes, pictures and videos in a comment online or by sending to SocialMedia@GEC-BSA.Org.  And, join us online!