Golden Empire Council News - October 2020

 

Do you have news, video, or photos to share? Email them to our editor.

 

 

Popcorn

Pack 37 is Leading the Council in Popcorn Sales!!!   $33,538 and still selling.

Cubmaster Trevor Strosnider says:  Pack 37's success this year has been the community outpouring of support for youth programs;  allowing store front sales as well as our Scouts and Akelas who have spent hours in the heat and smoke while observing social distancing.  The response from the community has been overwhelming and instrumental in the Pack reaching its ambitious goal this year.

Your Unit can still join the 2020 sale and make money for you Program. Contact David Hagar at David.hagar@scouting.org or Call 916-494-3460 Today.

Editors note: Masks were being worn by the Scouts.  They removed their masks for the pictures.

Golf Tournament

Golf Tournament

The Golden Empire Council, Boy Scouts of America will be holding its 46th Annual Invitational Golf Tournament at Morgan Creek Country Club on October 26th, 2020. The Challenges of the COVID 19 pandemic have made many events impossible. The Golf Tournament, however, is a chance for supporters of Scouting to get together in a safe and open environment. Through the proceeds, Scouting will be able to expand its programs to serve the youth of the Northern California Region more effectively. Presently, we serve over 16,000 youth, and with the support and the outstanding participation of the community, we can reach more!

 Register online:  Register Today!

2020 Golf Flyer

Push Event

You're Invited - Thursday, October 8, 2020

The Golden Empire Council would like to invite you to our 2020 Virtual Push Event.

For the last 5 years the Golden Empire Council has hosted a community fundraising event to showcase Scouting in our community.  This is normally a large in-person event complete with a dinner.  Unfortunately, restrictions on gatherings due to COVID-19 have made it impossible to hold a live in-person event.  However, in true Scouting spirit, we are prepared!!! We are going Virtual.

By holding a virtual event, we are protecting the health and safety of our youth, volunteers and community supports while still providing an opportunity to showcase Scouting and provide an opportunity to support the Scouting programs.

An added benefit of a virtual event is there is no limit to the number of guests that can attend or how they attend.  Guests may attend from the comfort of their own home, hotel room, travel trailer, back yard fire pit, or anywhere with internet access.  We encourage you to have fun while attending and invite all your friends to do the same.

This year we will be sharing Scouting’s impact on the community and recognizing James Beckwith, CEO/President of Five Star Bank.  Please register for this event to show your support for Scouting to thank James Beckwith for his impact on the community and Scouting.

How you can Help?

  1. Register at the link below to commit to attending this year’s virtual PUSH. This is how you will receive updates and the link to stream the event.
  2. Encourage others to register and attend the event.
    1. The link to register http://www.gec-bsa.org/event/virtual-push-oct-8th-2020/2721974
    2. Encourage virtual attendees to make a donation in advance when they register. There will also have an opportunity to give the night of.
    3. Remind them to indicate who recruited them when they register. 
    4. Remember because this event is virtual guest can attend from anywhere in the world. Use this to expand your net of potential attendees. There is no limit on the number of guests.

Thank you for all you do for Scouting we look forward to seeing you at PUSH!

Centennial Quest

Centennial Quest

 

Register NOW for the Centennial Quest!  

The Golden Empire Council is officially 100 years old!  How are you going to celebrate?  Why not join the Centennial Quest?

Travel out on an adventure to discover the many points of historical interest in the Golden Empire Council. Seek out places you may have never gone, where Scouts like you have made history over the last 100 years.

 

  • Everyone who registers gets Quest Instructions, a Decade Recap booklet, and an olive bordered patch
  • Look for an email on September 9th with the link to your Quest Instructions
  • Tag yourself and family in pictures on Instagram and Facebook with the hashtag #GECBSAat100
  • Self-report your success by October 31st
  • Look for your patches and bound books a few weeks after October 31st

How much for this great adventure? Only $10 per participant!

Additional details can be found on the Registration Page.

May you be successful in your Golden Empire Council Centennial Quest!

The GEC Centennial Committee

 

Centennial Quest vs Camptober

    

Centennial Quest?  Camptober?  What’s the Difference?

Inquiring minds are asking…for more information.  These are actually two very different programs with the same goal—giving Scouts and families something to do (mostly outdoors) and rewarding them for their efforts.

Centennial Quest contains 15 options that challenge participants to connect with locations or events from Golden Empire Council in their local communities, and provides a summary of each decade of the Council’s existence to help identify places to visit. Scouts and Scouters have from September 9 through October 24 The rewards include a participation patch for everyone, a second one for completing 10 adventures, and a third gold-bordered patch for completing all 15.  A printed version of the decade summary can be purchased for a separate fee.

Camptober Around the Big Top starts with an opening ceremony on October 1. Participants have until the October 31 closing ceremony to do their choice of 7 scavenger hunts and activities related to arctic survival, geocache, birds and bats, animal signs, catapults, maps, potatoes, maps, mammal bingo, rain sounds, airplanes, and Native American culture. Each activity comes with a full program writeup, suitable for Scouts to do them on their own, with their family, or with their den/patrol if county regulations allow. These challenges can even be used as unit program ideas after the competition. Registrants receive a circus-themed participation patch and a fillable completion certificate.

Participation in the 100 Years of Service Day counts as both a Centennial Quest AND a Camptober activity, so you can triple-dip!

Register here:

Centennial Quest--https://www.gec-bsa.org/centennial-events/centennial-quest/72442.

Camptober--https://www.gec-bsa.org/event/camptober-around-the-big-top/2700997   

Ad Altare Dei

AD ALTARE DEI REGISTRATION OPEN!!

Program Dates:  October 12th thru ~March 2021 

The 2020 program will be virtual due to COVID-19, with Scouts meeting with Counselors via Zoom

** Participation may be limited by the number of available Counselors **

The oldest religious award available to Scouts BSA and Venturing, the Ad Altare Dei focuses on the Seven Sacraments and is designed to help Catholic Scouts develop a fully Christian way of life in the faith community.

Cohorts of participants will be assigned a Counselor, collaborating in an online version of the Ad Altare Dei manual. After registering at the link below, students will be given a session ID to use when purchasing the online manual at THIS LINK. Be sure to indicate your preferred meeting night so you can be assigned to a cohort of scouts and a counselor available the same day and time.

There will be a minimum of nine meetings scheduled with the cohort (i.e. bi-monthly), and three required "retreat" days where all participants will log on to a call with a guest presenter. In addition to the cohort and retreat calls, scouts will need to complete a list of prerequisite requirements on their own (see below).

Cost of this year's Ad Altare Dei program is $15 paid with registration, which covers the counselor's cost plus a participant T-Shirt. The online manual is another $5 paid to NCCS for program administration, and on completion of all requirements and board of review the award itself can be purchased for $18.

Registration Link - https://catholic.formstack.com/forms/ad_altare

NCCS Shop for e-Online AAD - https://www.nccs-bsa.org/store/product/ad-altare-dei-youth-e-manual/

AAD Pre-Requisites - Ad Altare Dei 2020 Pre-requisites

Contact the Catholic Committee on Scouting for more information:

scouting@scd.org

GEC Camp-in

GEC Camp-In

Starting September 25th, we will be offering monthly family Camp-In weekends! This program offers something for ALL of our Scouting families!  Cub Scouts, Scouts BSA, Venture Crews and Sea Ships are all invited to join in on the fun!.  We hope to help our families stay in that Scouting spirit and are offering our Camp-In program to help!  Monthly, we will host a weekend of fun activities.  Campfires on Friday and Saturday night.  Lunch time check in fun on Saturday.  Interfaith Services on Sunday morning and encourage your families to take advantage of this great program and get outside!  Not able to camp?  No problem.  Pop a tent in the living room and enjoy the activities.  We hope our Units will participate and add their own gathering times to check in.  Remember that virtual camping nights count right now as a way to help our Scouts to move forward on their requirements.

Looking for a chance for some rank advancement or an opportunity to earn some Adventure loops?  Our Camp-In program offers both Cub Scout Adventure Loops as well as Merit Badge opportunities for Scouts BSA participants during the day on Saturday.  While our Camp-In extra programs are free for all those in our Council (and beyond), there is a small fee associated with the Merit Badge/Adventure Loop classes.  Get more information or register now by clicking here.  https://gec-bsa.doubleknot.com/scouting-at-home/gec-camp-in/73531  Don’t forget to check our Scouting at Home page for more great ideas and helpful tips for keeping your Unit moving forward this fall!   

Camptober

CAMPTOBER: AROUND THE BIG TOP

If you are looking for fun with a variety of challenges, check out Camptober: Under the Big Top.  After the opening ceremony on October 1, participants can choose from a menu of activities—from community searches linked to Cub advancements to a Scouts BSA-level Arctic Challenge to scavenger hunts in a variety of communities.  Families can choose to learn more about the area where they live or explore new ones.  Scouts will have the full month to complete their choice of 10 events, and earn this unique patch, before the October 31 closing ceremony. Patches will be mailed after the event.

This activity was planned by Placer and Pioneer Express Scouters to provide program challenges that get youth outdoors or active remotely with fellow Scouts to complete the events. Then we decided to let other districts join in on the fun.  Registration is live now! 

Registration

Flyer

Spook-o-ree

Spook-o-ree

Spook-o-Ree – Registration is live.  Join us for the 1st Annual Spook-o-Ree Event at the NorCal Adventure Area!  This day will include fun family activities for everyone including archery, bb shooting, pumpkin decorating/carving, cookie decorating and more!  We will also have an opportunity for those that wish to participate in the 100 Years of Service Day activities to do a good turn and check off that box for both Centennial Quest and Camptober.  Siblings are welcome and encouraged to attend!  3 and under are free and all other youth are $10.  No charge for adults.  Come enjoy the fall weather and have fun at our event.  We will be using co-hort groups to keep you with a low number of people all day for everyone’s safety.  Looking forward to seeing you at NorCal!  http://www.gec-bsa.org/event/spook-o-ree-2020/2695378

Univ. of Scouting

Now Open,

***YOU CAN REGISTER NOW!***

UNIVERSITY OF SCOUTING 2020

Now just $10.00 to be a part of this historic
GEC-BSA 100th Anniversary year Event! 


Join the 200+ scouters that have already registered from 33 different states in 59 different councils. Also classes are filling up fast and several are already full....
...don't miss this chance!

For more info.:

 #GECBSAat100

 

Membership Fee Structure

BSA Membership Fee Structure

From Scoutingwire:

The Boy Scouts of America (BSA) has worked to keep the membership fee as low as possible. Unfortunately, operating costs have continued to rise and COVID-19 has compounded the need to increase the fee to maintain the program.

To ensure we have the resources to fulfill the promise of Scouting, the updated national membership fee is

  • $66 for Cub Scouts, Scouts BSA, Venturing and Sea Scouts participants
  • $42 for Exploring participants
  • $30 for council-paid memberships
  • $42 for all adult volunteers (includes cost of background check)
  • $75 for a unit charter fee

The membership fees will take effect August 1, 2020, for new members in the 2020-2021 program year. For renewing members, the new fee will take effect on October 1, 2020. The updated unit charter fee will take effect August 1, 2020, for all new and rechartering units.

Starting August 1, 2020, there will also be a one-time $25 joining fee for new program participants in Cub Scouts, Scouts BSA, Venturing and Sea Scouts; however, there is no joining fee for Exploring participants, participants previously registered in any BSA program, those transferring from one program to another, council-paid memberships, or adult volunteers.

View complete document

Prorated fees for Fall 2020

Winter Camp

2020 NorCal Arctic Adventure

Winter camp reservations are open now!  The November Eagle Camp will be an all virtual event for those wishing to get started on those challenging Eagle Merit Badges.  Participation levels are up to each Scout.  We are offering up to 6 sessions of merit badges with some opportunities for fun after the day’s lessons.  Each merit badge will be covered in a 3.5 hour block in morning or afternoon session to meet your Scout’s needs.  Register now at:  http://www.gec-bsa.org/event/capacity-available/arctic-adventure-november-eagle-camp/67408 

For now, our December program (27th – 31st) is still scheduled to be in person and we are hopeful that we will be able to host our Scouts in a more traditional camp setting at that time.  Register now for this great program at http://www.gec-bsa.org/event/capacity-available/arctic-adventure-december-winter-camp/66137

Jingle Bell Walk

 

Save the Date

Jingle Bell Walk

December 5 - 6, 2020

More information coming soon.

Bag Sale

Bag Sale

https://www.gec-bsa.org/100th-anniversary-bag-sale/73231

Just for you for 2020 and our 100th Anniversary Celebration!  We are offering Urban Xplorer HalfPack and Backpacks for only $30 including a special luggage tag to show your support of Scouting!  These bags normally retail for almost $200 each and we had hoped to sell them at our summer camps and 100th Anniversary celebrations, but are now offering them for sale via the Council Office.  Prepay or pick one up on your next trip into the office.  These rugged bags will last for years so get one now while they last!

OA Patches

 

Order of the Arrow Patches

Last Chance

The Order of the Arrow is selling a fundraising patch for raising funds for the National Order of the Arrow Conference.   This is the last chance to buy this set.  The patch is available with three different border colors.  Follow the link for the color your want.

Red Border

Purple Border

Yellow Border

 

Camp patches

Camp Patches

Get a piece of 2020 Summer Camps while they last.  Purchase a Camp Winton or Camp Lassen 2020 Summer Camp patch for only $3.50 (shipping included).  We hate that we didn’t get to use the patches but we wanted you to have an opportunity to add them to your collections.

          

Click here to order:          Camp Lassen Patches

                                         Camp Winton Patch

Items for Sale

For Sale at GEC-BSA

Patches, Gear, Gifts, etc. that Scouts and Scouters can use!

 

See Facebook comments on this post for more background on these items.

Training

 

Although all in-person training events have been cancelled or postponed, this is a wonderful time to get caught up on the wonderful online courses that have been provided by the National Council. You can see what courses are available by visiting: https://www.scouting.org/training/adult/. On this site, you can register for courses and learn more about your position in Scouting and how Scouting works!  

As we get more information about our in-person training events we will be updating our training page at http://www.gec-bsa.org/training/62614.

NorCal Blog

Watch our Building progress at the Nor Cal Adventure Area.

Vitit the Blog or website for more informaiton.

Website

 

Social Media Check-In

Up to 5,000 checking in weekly!

 

 

It’s a good time to CHECK-OUT what'st going on at:  www.Facebook.com/gecbsawww.Instagram.com/gec.bsa/ and www.Twitter.com/gecbsa where you will find a COUNCIL-SIZED community of Scouters and some Scouts.

Contribute your Scouting message, notes, pictures and videos in a comment online or by sending to SocialMedia@GEC-BSA.Org
And, join us online!

Venturing VOA at UoS-2020
 

 

Watch National, Regional and Area Venturing Leaders

TAKE THE STAGE at UoS-2020

  • National VOA President TYLER GREY with Nat. VP SAMANTHGA TROIANO on ( VE-101) 'Goal Setting and Time Management'
  • Western Region VOA President JULIANA MURILLO with Area 3 VP EVAN SHILLING on (VE-102) 'Project Management Training'
  • Area 3 VOA President JAMEY SCHNASSE with Area 3 VP THERON OSTERHOUT on (VE-103) 'Mentoring Training'

 

For more info.:

Platinum, Top-rated, Reviewed

GEC-BSA is investment ready....

 

Golden Empire Council recently  became a ‘2020 Top-Rated’ nonprofit.  That status is tied to our previously qualified-for rating of transparency as a ‘2020 GuideStar Platinum’ nonprofit.

If we add these recognitions to our local ‘Reviewed’ status with the Sacramento Region Community Foundation, and the BSA’s own Council Journey to Excellence GOLD (For 2016 thru 2019) it’s a powerful endorsement to donors that we are worthy of their investments.

So thanks again for all who helped
in getting us to here for 2020!