Golden Empire Council News - February 2021

 

Do you have news, video, or photos to share? Email them to our editor.

 

 

James Rhodes Dreyer Selected as Scout Executive

James Rhodes-Dreyer Selected as Scout Executive

To the Golden Empire Council Community:

I am pleased to announce the selection of James Rhodes-Dreyer as Scout Executive of the Golden Empire Council, Sacramento, California, effective February 1, 2021.


James began his Scouting career as a Paraprofessional at the Mt Diablo Silverado Council in Pleasant Hill, California, in February 2005. Following his time in Pleasant Hill James accepted a position as the Senior District Executive and Camp Director for the Suwannee River Area Council in Tallahassee Florida For the past seven years James has served successfully in Sacramento as a Field Director, Assistant Scout Executive, and Director of Field Service. James is an Eagle Scout, Woodbadge Staffer and Vigil Honor member of the Order of the Arrow who enjoys being a Cub Leader in his son’s pack, swimming, rafting, reading, and any outdoor adventure. He and his wife, Gabrielle, have two children: Lucas, 8; and Erik, 5.

I am excited for this next chapter for the Council and know that James is the right person to lead us forward. Please join me in thanking the Selection Committee for their tireless effort during the selection process and in welcoming and congratulating James as he continues his Scouting journey as the Golden Empire Council Scout Executive.


Sonja Herne
Chairman of the Board
Golden Empire Council, Boy Scouts of America

Council Virtual After Dinner Event

COUNCIL DINNER INVITATION

 

Golden Empire Council invites you to

The Legacy of Scouting—the

Council After Dinner Virtual Event

Saturday, February 6, 2021, 7 PM;

Slide program starts at 6:30 PM

 

We will be honoring:

2020 Silver Antelope

Paul Helman

 2020 Silver Beavers

Kelly Brothers, Three Rivers District

Don Clark, Yolano District

John Ganaway, Yolano District

Shon McAdoo, Pioneer Express District

Dale Rohlfing, Buttes District

Keith Underwood, American River District

First GEC Female Eagle Scout Class

 

 Dinner PROGRAM cost is $5; deadline February 4, 2021

WEBINAR LINKS WILL ONLY BE SENT TO REGISTRANTS

 

Please follow this link to register:

http://www.gec-bsa.org/event/council-after-dinner-virtual-event/2755899

 

Cub Scout Recruiting

Cub Scout Recruiting

Recruiting new families into Cub Scouting is more important than ever.  Not just because we want to build up our Packs and share our time-honored program with more youth, but also because our communities are in need of the kind of organization that can bring people together around a common goal - providing engaging, fun activities for kids that, unbeknownst to them, build character and help prepare them for life.
 

The GEC Membership Team will be holding a series of “Cub Extravaganza” virtual sessions to help prepare Packs to hold online Information meetings this spring and help prepare for what we hope to be in-person recruiting in the Fall.  These sessions will provide all kinds of resources and guidance, as well as “Pack/Den Meeting-In-a-Box” giveaways that can be great help for Cub Leaders! We are also planning a recruiting patch program to recognize youth that invite friends to join these sessions.

Stay tuned for specifics on the dates, times and locations of the Cub Extravaganza sessions, and don’t hesitate to reach out to your District leaders with additional questions.

 

Venturing Leadership Award

Venturing Leadership Award

  The Venturing Leadership award is presented to Venturing Youth and adults who have demonstrated extraordinary dedication and have given outstanding leadership and service to Venturing.  This year's recipients were honored during a virtual event held in January and will also be recognized during the Council After Dinner Virtual Event to be held on February 6, 2021.

This years award recipients are:

Sarah Yeung - VOA President

Amina Noorani - VOA Vice President

Zach Baker - VOA Vice President of Administration

John Walton - Council Venturing Commissioner

 

Scouting for Food

Scouting for Food

 

Circle your calendars for March 6 and 13, 2021, for Scouting for Food.  The need for food is greater than ever this year.  Scouts can provide a much-needed community service by collecting donations and delivering them to the designated local food pantry.

We are revising the unit toolkit to include COVID precautions:

  • Youth or adults who are sick or have had close contact with someone who is sick must stay home.
  • Door hangers will be available to all units who register and must be distributed in the neighborhood before the event.  Avoid “trick or treat” style collections involving knocking on doors to collect donations.
  • Scouts should only go out with family members instead of with buddies from the unit.
  • Food should only be picked up from front porches instead of ringing doorbells.
  • Units should avoid gathering together for food/snacks.

We are confident that, with these precautions, Scouting for Food can continue to provide community service safely.

 

Camp Cards

Camp Cards are coming!  Camp Cards are a great way for Scouts to earn money to for camp.  If your unit has not yet signed up to sell Camp Cards follow the link to sign up now.

Camp card sing up link

Summer Camp

Sign up for Summer Camp

   

Let's put the OUTING in SCOUTING! The Golden Empire Council has some of the best camps in the country and first class programs to match the faculties. Visit our camping page to check out the countless camping opportunities we offer. And if at anytime you have any questions about our camping properties or programs, please contact the Camping Department at 916-333-5434 or camping@gec-bsa.org. Happy Camping!

 

Camping Webpage

Woodbadge

Golden Empire Council

Cost Savings Promotion for both 2021 Wood Badge Courses

Spring (April 23-4-5, May 1-2)-Fall (September 24-5-6,  October 2-3)

The Golden Empire Council is pleased to offer a cost saving promotion to encourage attendance at and participation at a GEC Wood Badge course in 2021. The normal cost for the course is $200 if registered by March 1, $250 if after. The council is offering a $100 reduction for GEC scouters who meet the following criteria:

  • Registered to a unit that had a scouter attend either GEC Wood Badge Course in 2019
  • Registered to a unit chartered to a Chartered Organization that had a scouter from  any of its chartered units (Pack, Troop, Crew) attend either Wood Badge Course in 2019
  •  A GEC scouter, from any unit, who receives a recommendation to attend Wood Badge from any participant who attended either GEC Wood Badge Course in 2019

If a scouter meets any of these three conditions and is verified by Tyler Bonino, the total cost becomes $100 if signed up by March 1st and $150 if after.

For Further information and verification of eligibility, contact:

Tyler Bonino, GEC Professional WB Staff Advisor, tyler.bonino@scouting.org, 530-908-1879

 

2021 Wood Badge Dates

The Golden Empire Council Training team is happy to announce the 2021 Wood badge Dates. Don’t let the leaders of your unit miss out on these amazing training opportunities.  These advancement training courses are designed to take your units leadership from good to great. Online registration is available now, Please encourage your unit to start planning today.

W3-47-21-1

April 23-25 & May 1-2

Camp Lassen

Paul Helman

Open Now
Click to register

W3-47-21-2

September 24-26 & October 2-3

1st Weekend Camp Lassen

2nd Weekend Nor Cal Adventure Area

Russ Erickson

Open Now
Click to Register

 
NYLT

NYLT NEWS

 

We are excited to announce  two weeklong National Youth Leadership Training courses for 2021! Make your calendars for either June 7-12  or  July 26-31 at Nor Cal Adventure Area! What is National Youth Leadership Training (NYLT) ?  It’s a premier intensive leadership course conducted in the outdoors. As members of an NYLT patrol, Scouts and Venturers learn the tools of leadership -- experiencing the patrol method first-hand as they camp, cook, eat, work, and learn to play the "Game of Scouting” and learn to become a model Troop! More information can be found at https://www.gec-bsa.org/training/nylt/62948Registration will open in December!  Feel free to e-mail us with any questions at NYLTinfo@gec-bsa.org.  We can’t wait to meet our youth participants! 

 

 

NYLT youth staff Interviews are just around the corner! Becoming an NYLT staff member is an amazing opportunity for youth who have already attended NYLT To further their leadership skills by mentoring youth and taking advantage of the  opportunity to make new friends, and gain valuable experience that will help ensure success in future relationships,  work, college, sports and civic opportunities.  Course Directors  will be conducting youth staff interviews on the following dates; Friday November  20, Saturday November 21  or Friday December 11th.  Please send you name, phone number,  year you attended NYLT , and your e-mail address to NYLTinfo@gec-bsa.org and you will be sent the sign up link and interview times.   The interviews will be conducted via Zoom as of this newsletter.   To find out what being on staff entails and to print an application go to  https://www.gec-bsa.org/training/nylt/62948

 

Join us online!

Be part of GEC-BSA online!

 

Recent social media features include:

  • Living Room Fort Competition
  • Recognition for GEC-BSA Eagle Scout Projects
  • Searching for the FIRST GEC-BSs female Eagle Scouts (By becoming Eagle Scouts before Feb. 8, 2021 they will be members of the 'Inaugural class of Female Eagle Scouts')

Have you noticed what's happening?
It's a little like an 'always updated' Council newsletter with fresh posts EVERY DAY at: www.Facebook.com/gecbsa
www.Instagram.com/gec.bsa/ and www.Twitter.com/gecbsa .

Join the discussion with your own Scouting message, notes, pictures and videos in a comment online, or by sending to SocialMedia@GEC-BSA.Org !

Membership Fee Structure

BSA Membership Fee Structure

From Scoutingwire:

The Boy Scouts of America (BSA) has worked to keep the membership fee as low as possible. Unfortunately, operating costs have continued to rise and COVID-19 has compounded the need to increase the fee to maintain the program.

To ensure we have the resources to fulfill the promise of Scouting, the updated national membership fee is

  • $66 for Cub Scouts, Scouts BSA, Venturing and Sea Scouts participants
  • $42 for Exploring participants
  • $30 for council-paid memberships
  • $42 for all adult volunteers (includes cost of background check)
  • $75 for a unit charter fee

The membership fees will take effect August 1, 2020, for new members in the 2020-2021 program year. For renewing members, the new fee will take effect on October 1, 2020. The updated unit charter fee will take effect August 1, 2020, for all new and rechartering units.

Starting August 1, 2020, there will also be a one-time $25 joining fee for new program participants in Cub Scouts, Scouts BSA, Venturing and Sea Scouts; however, there is no joining fee for Exploring participants, participants previously registered in any BSA program, those transferring from one program to another, council-paid memberships, or adult volunteers.

View complete document

Prorated fees for Fall 2020

Bag Sale

Bag Sale

https://www.gec-bsa.org/100th-anniversary-bag-sale/73231

Just for you for 2020 and our 100th Anniversary Celebration!  We are offering Urban Xplorer HalfPack and Backpacks for only $30 including a special luggage tag to show your support of Scouting!  These bags normally retail for almost $200 each and we had hoped to sell them at our summer camps and 100th Anniversary celebrations, but are now offering them for sale via the Council Office.  Prepay or pick one up on your next trip into the office.  These rugged bags will last for years so get one now while they last!

OA Patches

 

Order of the Arrow Patches

Last Chance

The Order of the Arrow is selling a fundraising patch for raising funds for the National Order of the Arrow Conference.   This is the last chance to buy this set.  The patch is available with three different border colors.  Follow the link for the color your want.

Red Border

Purple Border

Yellow Border

 

Camp patches

Camp Patches

Get a piece of 2020 Summer Camps while they last.  Purchase a Camp Winton or Camp Lassen 2020 Summer Camp patch for only $3.50 (shipping included).  We hate that we didn’t get to use the patches but we wanted you to have an opportunity to add them to your collections.

          

Click here to order:          Camp Lassen Patches

                                         Camp Winton Patch

Items for Sale

For Sale at GEC-BSA

Patches, Gear, Gifts, etc. that Scouts and Scouters can use!

 

See Facebook comments on this post for more background on these items.

Training

 

Although all in-person training events have been cancelled or postponed, this is a wonderful time to get caught up on the wonderful online courses that have been provided by the National Council. You can see what courses are available by visiting: https://www.scouting.org/training/adult/. On this site, you can register for courses and learn more about your position in Scouting and how Scouting works!  

As we get more information about our in-person training events we will be updating our training page at http://www.gec-bsa.org/training/62614.

Smile.Amazon.Com

Support Scouting while you Shop

Are you using Smile when you shop at Amazon?  Amazon Smile is a simple and automatic way for you to support your favorite charitable organization every time you shop, at no cost to you.  When you shop at smile.amazon.com, Amazon will donate a portion of your purchase price to your favorite charitable organization.  The Golden Empire Council is listed as "Golden Empire Council - Boy Scouts of America Trust Fund".  

So far Golden Empire Council participation in Amazon Smile has resulted in over $2,300 in donations.  Imagine what that might become if more Scouters Council-wide choose to do the same.

Navigating www.GEC-BSA.org

Help Navigating at www.GEC-BSA.org

  • Do you know what county you’re in, but not what ‘Scouting District’? 
  • Ever wonder what areas your GEC-BSA ‘Scouting District’ includes? 
  • Would you like to be able to pick out your ‘District Executive’ in a crowd?

We’re pleased to invite you to try out some new features to help answer these and similar questions.

If you visit: http://www.gec-bsa.org/districts/62262, you will find a following ‘click-able’ map of Northern CA counties.

In each case clicking on a county will take you to a ‘Scouting District’ or to a Sacramento County map to pick one or four (4) ‘Scouting Districts’ for your area of the county.

Also each ‘District’ home page now has ‘new’ District Executive’ and ‘District Map’ choices to help you navigate and connect!

Platinum, Top-rated, Reviewed

GEC-BSA is investment ready....

 

Golden Empire Council recently  became a ‘2020 Top-Rated’ nonprofit.  That status is tied to our previously qualified-for rating of transparency as a ‘2020 GuideStar Platinum’ nonprofit.

If we add these recognitions to our local ‘Reviewed’ status with the Sacramento Region Community Foundation, and the BSA’s own Council Journey to Excellence GOLD (For 2016 thru 2019) it’s a powerful endorsement to donors that we are worthy of their investments.

So thanks again for all who helped
in getting us to here for 2020/2021!